10k Run on Sunday, tips please!

 

I’m excited to be doing my second ever 10k on Sunday. Last year I went the wrong way and went up one of the steepest hills instead of around it. The guy that followed me was not happy! I even stopped to do my shoelaces, but still somehow managed to do it in 1 hour 7 minutes.

I’m trying to take it more seriously this time. I’ve heard carb-loading is good, but other than that I don’t really have any idea what to do before a race/during the race/after the race. Any advice on what to eat before the race or how to avoid injury or better regulate my breathing would be greatly appreciated!

Please post a comment below and help me run better this year.

5 Comments

Filed under Running, Uncategorized

5 responses to “10k Run on Sunday, tips please!

  1. Run your own race and don’t set off too fast. Once you’ve done a couple of miles you’ll settle into your pace and will be able to judge it from there. Oh, I forgot to mention, enjoy it!

  2. Double knot your shoes! Get there early…so you have plenty of time to use the bathroom! Carb loading is fine…but don’t eat anything unusual, or that your stomach isn’t used to eating. Eat a simple breakfast that morning. I like a thin wheat bagel with some peanut butter and a half of a banana.

    …and yes..enjoy it! Have fun! Soak it all in!

  3. Pingback: A Cheer-ful Community Race – My First City 10K | literarylydi

Leave a Reply

