A Mighty Marinade!

kind of my steak dinner

I tried a Jamie Oliver recipe today and have to say I was a bit disappointed. It didn’t really live up to expectations.

However, the other night’s meat marinade certainly beat it in the taste steaks. In fact, I would steak a lot on it beating a pasta bake off. The carbonara this evening was a bit of a misteak in comparison.

Waitrose may be expensive for most things, but there is such a variety in the large stores. You can get things which simply aren’t available anywhere else where I live. I picked up a frozen thai spice packet with a garlic and ginger packet. Two for £2.20 and the packets last several months, so not expensive. The frying steak was a mere £4 for two servings. The night before I put the steak in a bowl and added two tablespoons soy sauce, some frozen garlic, ginger and thai spice (which is coriander and chilli) and popped it in the fridge.

The next night I served it up with stir fry vegetables and my boyfriend was highly complimentary.Probably the best steak I have done, previously I found the meat can often be dry without a sauce. I would recommend serving it with coconut rice, you can get it as boil in the bag rice for about £2. It was really quick too, taking only about 5 minutes.

Leave a comment

Filed under Life of Lydia

Leave a Reply

