Pole dancing – beautiful art or seedy sexiness?

Have you ever applied for a job you wouldn’t normally consider if you were in work?

Recently in my desperation I was considering pole dancing. I saw a documentary on it on the BBC a while back and it didn’t have to involve any contact.

Then it showed the luxurious lifestyles of the dancers, and described how they earn £80+ an hour. Now when you’re looking at a series of jobs at minimum wage or £7, the hourly wage of a dancer could look almost as tempting to a woman as they might to their drooling onlookers.

I’d like to see more male pole dancers – why aren’t male strip clubs more common? 156989317

Last time I was desperately jobseeking (recession, July 2008) I resorted to door-to-door sales. I was working alone, doing 12 hours shifts on commission only. A colleague had numerous experiences of harassment, abuse and downright creepiness. Luckily I just got kindly folks inviting me in for a chat and sometimes (thankfully) a cuppa. I may do a separate post on this, let me know if you’d like to hear about it, or your experience of it.

The reality of the job is quite different to this picture

The reality of the job is quite different to this picture

Last week I nearly applied for a pot washing job. The total 2 hour walking distance from my house put me off, as there was no public transport link. I think I’ll have a separate chat about bus “services”.

This week I’ve reached my final bastion of desperation. I applied for a life modelling job.

That’s right, I’m now so fed up of bouncing between short term work and unemployment that I’m prepared to get my kit off for money. I hope the artists see me as a collection of forms, line and shadow.  Ok, the money’s about 8 times less than

timthumba dancer’s, but I would be naked for the sake of art, so it seems acceptable to me. Only artists could see me and not anyone who wants to. I would feel like I was selling my soul pole dancing. Dancers call it art, and “beautiful”. In a  BBC 1Xtra interview a dancer doesn’t think it’s seedy, but I can’t see how making money by arousing sexual interest isn’t, no matter how graceful her moves are. I’d be curious to see what their lives are like. May buy a book on it. 

I still think pole dancing is seedy when done for cash, as opposed to beautiful. Beautiful to me is Grace Kelly.

She was graceful and modest. Without modest dress I think you're sexy and hot rather than beautiful.

8 Comments

February 6, 2013 · 10:32 pm

8 responses to “Pole dancing – beautiful art or seedy sexiness?

  1. Pingback: Interesting links | literarylydi

  2. Good luck with the life modelling, and let us know how you get on 🙂

  3. Yes good luck with it and if you would like to do a post about pooldancers, I will like it because for me it have to do more with dancing/performing than with sex !

  4. Chin Up, Chest High!

    If done right, it can be highly erotic without being seedy. Treat it as an art form and you will get out of it what you put in. Putting a naked girl on stage who cannot dance is not art, Fully clothed, moving gracefully, with no hint that she is about to get undressed can be highly erotic. But then I want my titillation to be a bit more high brow and suggestive.

  5. call it what you want but if I could do this http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YdZyuxwddYc I would climb on a pole ALL DAY LONG!

  6. I know exactly where you’re coming from about applying for jobs when you’re desperate for any work at all! I think I agree, from my personal opinion I’d rather never pole dance for money.

  7. I found this site very funny and I just wanna thanks for that. I hope you keep up the great work!

Leave a Reply

